problems with refined sugar?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

peteinwilts

Drone Bee
Beekeeping Sponsor
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Lots and lots
Hi Guys

During another thread, it was brought up that I was worrying about rubbish in the water in syrup and not the refined sugar.

is there a problem with refined sugar?

Cheers
Pete

At risk of reading too much into it myself, strikes me as odd that you worry about the water but apparently not the refined sugar.

I had a new NUC and had queen issues a couple of months ago and it is still a weak colony.. hence feeding..

is it the calcium hydroxide or phosphoric acid used in the refining that is the issue with refined suger?

I am no expert in sugar manufacturing, but I do know a little about water. My local tapwater contains a large amount of Magnesium and Calcium, along with other chemicals including copper that leaches from the pipes... 380ppm of crap (not as bad as many bottled waters though!) + the gasses which I would have thought would disipate before getting to the bees anyway..

Refined sugar is the best food after honey. No problem.

Bees get other nutritients from pollen or from their body reserves.

Refined sugar is the best food after honey. No problem.

Bees get other nutritients from pollen or from their body reserves.

what other nutriants do they require?? can this be given artificially?

I have one good colony and is going to keep all of it's honey, but have two smaller colony's and want to give them the best possible chance to survive winter.