First 'inspection'

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bill_J

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi, I'm new to bees and just recently finished a beginners course at my local association. Course was interesting but 95% classroom based with probably less than 30 mins practical stuff opening up a hive (it was a cold windy day for the practical session). Like all courses of that type, I suppose, it was great for giving a little bit of foundation knowledge but I suspect the real learning won't start until I'm on my own and doing the practical stuff regularly...making decisions and making my own mistakes (probably).

To that end, I bit the bullet last week, sold a kidney, and bought a national hive (with deep 14 x 12 brood box). I set it up and bought a Nuc of bees a few days later (native bees). The first problem I encountered was with transporting the bees. I'd bought a poly nuc, specifically for the purpose of getting them from the seller (40 minute drive away) to my home. The seller insisted, though, that a much better idea would be for me to bring my brood box, floor, crown board and some straps. His reasoning was that it would be easier just to move the bees once rather than from his nuc..to my nuc...to my hive. That made sense. The only issue I had was that the seller sold me the bees on 6 standard sized frames and my brood box is 14 x 12. I'd read on here and elsewhere that is not necessarily a problem and that the bees would fill the gap with wild comb until I was able to work the standard frames out of the brood box and gradually replace them with 14 x 12s.