Part time work

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wilvaughan18

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I have been asked to manage some hives for a local wedding venue. They would like to sell the honey etc. How much is the going rate for doing this in the UK?

Probably about £10 per hour.

What’s your experience? What are they expecting? Do they think they’ll cover your cost with honey from a few hives.
What happens when a swarm lands in the middle of a wedding?
Can you have bees on the site? You’re not going to travel inspect a few hives and charge £10!for the hour. Gardeners around here charging £20 an hour and minimum half day before onto the next job.

Probably about £10 per hour.
I have a few years experience. It is a huge site, I have chosen an area a safe distance from any commercial activity si that is not a worry. They will pay all costs. I have said that it may not make much if any money. It is only a few miles grom home so could just be a hobby job, I am not a commercial keeper, but am bbka qualified and registered on beebase etc. I think keeping it low will make it just a self funding project.

What happens when a swarm lands in the middle of a wedding?
Job bonus, a new twist on the chimney sweep idea. Could well take off.
You’re not going to travel inspect a few hives and charge £10!for the hour. Gardeners around here charging £20 an hour and minimum half day before onto the next job.
It's true, we add value to ourselves based on ability. Even so, many people do travel to do a part time job for not very much money in the grand scheme of things.

My original reply was based on available information which implied (the way I read it) that the venue were looking for an agricultural labourer to look after the employer's own hives. As such, I don't reckon I was a million miles off.