Would you treat?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sandysman

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
3+
Over the last few months when I have tested for varroa I have had a nil result. I have been using Hiveclean during inspections as a maintainable dose only and this appears to have worked well. (It is my second season of using it ). I have in the past used the traditional autumn varroa
treatments but feel this year that if I do I will be subjecting the bees to an unnecessary treatment. I know that the inspection board only gives an indication and is not 100% so what do you guys suggest?
Andy

Deffo

Well I am a newbie in my 1st year so no experience to call on, and like you my inspections had shown zero drop. However having read comments on here by others I decided to treat anyway - This morning (12 hours in) showed a drop of around 20. Watch this space...

If you want to trial, try only on one hive.

Experiments best done on limited scale in case of disaster.

(I.,m the same regarding varroa)

Over the last few months when I have tested for varroa I have had a nil result. I have been using Hiveclean during inspections as a maintainable dose only and this appears to have worked well. (It is my second season of using it ). I have in the past used the traditional autumn varroa
treatments but feel this year that if I do I will be subjecting the bees to an unnecessary treatment. I know that the inspection board only gives an indication and is not 100% so what do you guys suggest?
Andy

This was covered in earlier thread and it raised quite stir.
Speaking for my hives I have strong colony looking perfectly healthy with a low drop. Treated and was shocked by what I saw. I will now be treating all of them. I think this year the have learnt how to hide and cling on far better.