Step by step monthly beehive tasks

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

greig1983

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I found this online and as I'm new to bee keeping I did get my first hive (poly) in September/November and want to make sure this year I do things correctly.

Do you agree to these monthly tasks?

Jan Check roofs and entrances for blockages by leaves or snow.

Feb Check hives for food, feed as necessary

March Change/clean floor
Continue to monitor food levels
Monitor Varroa levels, this continues through the season from now on. High levels of mites found will need treating sooner rather than later.

April First inspection on mild day, checking health, food, queen is ok (Queenright),
Replace old comb

May Start weekly swarm prevention inspections
Add supers (honey boxes) as necessary
Start to breed new queens as part of your swarm prevention and good management.
With planning, now is the time to increase your hive count on your terms (ie not the bees terms ...you are the boss)

June Continue weekly swarm prevention inspections and add supers.

July Still adding supers and inspecting for swarming

Aug Remove main honey crop
Best time to treat for Varroa by using Varroacides
Restrict the entrance to prevent other bees or wasps from robbing your hives

Sept Feed for the winter
Remove any Varroa strips at end of treatment period
Sort out how many hives you want to start next year with by reducing your hive count, combining two into one.

Oct No further internal inspections from now on
Fit mouse guards for the onset of winter

Nov Check externals routinely especially after severe weather in case of storm damage.

Dec As October but you should be attending your local association meetings and making your plans for next year based on this year experiences.