Nervous Newbie

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

debbie.jane61

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi All.
Absolute beginner here, Im based in Loughborough and currently have a long and very muddy walk to the hives. It gets better in summer apparently and I can get my car closer. I completed a theory and practical course last year and Ive recently taken on 5 hives, maybe a little ambitious but the opportunity arose so I jumped in with both feet.

The hives had been left over winter with a super on top of the brood box and no QE. They are all active, two much more than the others. I have been today to put on the QE and one hive was extremely aggressive. My first encounter with aggressive bees and slightly terrifying!! But I didnt get stung so was very happy. On top of the brood box and on the underside of the lid were numerous white pupa. See photos. Does anyone know what they could be? they dont look like wax moth and too big to be bee pupa. Would explain why the bees were so agitated. Very hard to get decent photo when under attack and wearing gloves! It hasnt put me off but I will make sure my smoker is well lit next time as it stalled and I had to go and refresh it.

Attachments

• 20230401_110114.jpg
    20230401_110114.jpg
    2.8 MB · Views: 1
  • 20230401_110116.jpg
    20230401_110116.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 1
  • 20230401_110121.jpg
    20230401_110121.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 0
  • 20230401_110126.jpg
    20230401_110126.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 0
  • 20230401_110139.jpg
    20230401_110139.jpg
    817.6 KB · Views: 1
  • 20230327_134121.jpg
    20230327_134121.jpg
    999.5 KB · Views: 0
Hi, welcome, five hives to start? Wow!