I would like to ask you

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gandalf

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hello :welcome:
I may remind oneself - I'm beekeeper from Poland. I am an admin of polish forum about beekeeping. In last time I write many articles to different polish magazines about beekeeping. My new article is about bumblebees import's to UK. Recently, I read BBC Nature and I found one article:
w w w . bbc. co. uk /news/science-environment-22861651
I would like to ask you, why during the last winter many apiaries didn't wait till spring. Is the reason for this is the Varroa with viruses?

Recently, when I wrote on Your forum I have found out, that british beekeepers use Apiguard. Is the Apiguard still effective? We have this medicine in Poland from December 2012. What is the reason collapse of bees this winter? How your apiaries?

Please answer me,
Gandalf

What is the reason collapse of bees this winter? How your apiaries?

Can't speak for others - but winter was long and hard - my bees relied on me for sugar syrup as they could not forage for enough food of their own. Sugar syrup is OK as a stop gap but not a full-time diet. This also meant that those hives that survived until Spring 13 -were not strong enough for Oxalic...and so died off Also, as the weather was so bad I lost 2 hives to mice eating around the mouseguard...

Apiguard, I use every 2 years or so and is always achieved a good drop level - whether that is the same everywhere - I do not know...

My hives have gone from 2 - 5 through splits and nuc making, all strong and happy with forage strong. Taken 100lb og honey on top of splitting etc too.