Hi and help on hive selection, to polyhive or not and what's wrong with langstroths!

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Willardx

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi all. I am brand new to beekeeping and currently on a beginner's course with my local association.
I am hoping to get one or two hives this year and am on a bit of a budget. I was keen on the look of polyhives but this didn't get a great response from the association, suggesting cleaning difficulties etc. They were also not massively keen on langstroths. Annoyingly it is polyhives and wooden langstroths which I have found at the most sensible prices.
I am sure that you guys have heard this before but any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks.

Does your association, or one nearby, have an auction coming up soon? It could be a good place to find some bargains (and probably some rubbish).

Hi and welcome to bee keeping (another lamb to the slaughter!)
We have a chap at our Assoc (Brighton) who will make a beautiful Cedar National hive with 2 supers for £160.
Get on a swarm list to get bees for free.
I have no experience of langstroths but Nationals are the most used, and are user friendly.bee-smillie

If you get second hand please sterilise as much as pos (heat scorching)

Cleaning poly, not a problem but I suspect those advising you differently have no experience with them. Nationals are usually suggested because it's what everyone else has and nucs are generally more available on national format.

Hi all. I am brand new to beekeeping and currently on a beginner's course with my local association.