Quantcast

Double brood to 14x12

Beekeeping Forum

Help Support Beekeeping Forum:

chalkie 

House Bee
Joined
Mar 20, 2009
Messages
204
Reaction score
0
Location
Tyldesley/Lancashire
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
5+
Not opened up the hive yet but when i fed over winter there where bees in the centre of both boxes, my plan is to get them into 14x12 with new frames, what is the best way and when should i do this, still bloody cold here.
thanks
 

chalkie 

House Bee
Joined
Mar 20, 2009
Messages
204
Reaction score
0
Location
Tyldesley/Lancashire
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
5+
Been through the hives today (temp 21c) the double brood only had brood and eggs in the top box and plenty off stores so removed the bottom box.
Was a bit suprised as to only see a frame of brood and around a frame of eggs at differant stages and no emerging brood.
With this new info when and how would be best to change to 14x12.

My second hive on single brood was in the same stages of development, queen wasn't spotted in either.
 

MuswellMetro 

Queen Bee
Joined
Oct 1, 2009
Messages
6,526
Reaction score
27
Location
London N10
Hive Type
14x12
I would suggest a Bailey frame change.
same as rooftops, but if its small perhaps 3" polystyrene dummys either side of foundation ans perhaps eveneither side of the brood in old box to keep it warm.

brood plus 14x12 is a lot to heat for a small colony
 

chalkie 

House Bee
Joined
Mar 20, 2009
Messages
204
Reaction score
0
Location
Tyldesley/Lancashire
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
5+
Just done a quick search on here for bailey change and not much info came up.
If i remove stores to re-place with poly dummies how much should i leave them with and should i feed so they draw the foundation out, if i do feed is some of it used for stores which will take up valuable laying space :confused:
thanks
 

chalkie 

House Bee
Joined
Mar 20, 2009
Messages
204
Reaction score
0
Location
Tyldesley/Lancashire
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
5+
Just done a quick search on here for bailey change and not much info came up.
If i remove stores to re-place with poly dummies how much should i leave them with and should i feed so they draw the foundation out, if i do feed is some of it used for stores which will take up valuable laying space :confused:
thanks
I've made some dummies, plan is to put 14x12 on top of old brood with 6 new frames and dummies either side with queen excluder on, do i feed or not.

Any chance of a reply to this, want to get it done this weekend.
thanks
 

oliver90owner 

Queen Bee
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
15,628
Reaction score
27
Location
Lincolnshire
Hive Type
14x12
Already double brood, so a strong colony?. Collecting nectar hand over fist? More likely need supers than feeding, and who wants sugar syrup in with the honey at this time of the year? Nuff said?

Regards, RAB
 

chalkie 

House Bee
Joined
Mar 20, 2009
Messages
204
Reaction score
0
Location
Tyldesley/Lancashire
Hive Type
national
Number of Hives
5+
Already double brood, so a strong colony?. Collecting nectar hand over fist? More likely need supers than feeding, and who wants sugar syrup in with the honey at this time of the year? Nuff said?

Regards, RAB
Hi rab,
there only on single brood now as i removed bottom box in post 2
 

Latest posts

Top