WBC vs National.....

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

redpola

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi,

I recently bought a honey extractor from an experienced local beekeeper, which surely must prove I am an optimist (this is my first year keeping bees)!

Our local beekeepers only meet regularly in the Winter and so my exposure to beekeepers and their experience has largely been this forum and the guy I bought the bees from.

The lady I bought the extractor from was very chatty and we spoke at some length about bees and this and that. She shared some amusing "the queen was up my trouser leg" type stories and all was good.

But one thing she was insistent upon was that I should use WBC and not National. She backed this up with stats about heavy winter losses in Nationals vs zero losses in WBC hives.

I must confess that much of what I've heard / read of Beekeeping lore sometimes seems 50% people saying "this is the right thing / way, I've always done it this way" vs 50% people saying "No! THIS is the right way, I've always done it this way", so I was curious whether there really is something to what she said. She specifically said that WBC hives are better insulated for Winters.

Ignoring the cost of switching hives, should I be switching from my (two) nationals to WBC?

Cheers,

Neil.

I'm no expert (I'm on Nationals) but I think a WBC riser, just, fits over a National box anyway enabling you to have the best of both worlds.

Neil,
Sit back and enjoy the ride...

WBC vs National and winter losses...

Winter losses can occur for many reasons:
Poor stores
Disease
Poor beekeeping preparations (siting in a poor location - happened to me nearly last winter)

I run only WBC hives as they are 'prettier'. Probably the deciding factor.