Sulphur Discs from Thornes ? needed?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Martimart

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
I've seen a e-shot from Thorne saying that sulphur discs are back in stock, I've never used them before or needed to.

Last year I lent one of my hives for queen rearing and when it came back it was full of wax moth. I've not really done anything with it over winter.

A couple of years ago I'd just dive straight in and get the switch card out and get the snake oil from Thorne, so eventually coming to the point... Are Sulphur Discs for the gullible? How do you remove wax moth?>

Lots of people use sulphur burning for waxmoth. I've used it for fumigation of chicken coops for redmite and it seems to work pretty well for that (though in summer I found redmite on the outside too which explains reinfestation).
I just have a couple of tablespoons of sulphur in a small metal dish resting on a heatproof (but not too heatsinking) surface, light it, close the doors and wait a couple of hours before airing thoroughly.
You could do the same with a hive, just make sure the low blue flame it produces is away from flammable bits!
Not much can survive having it's blood turned into sulphurous acid!
Sulphur powder (flowers of sulphur) can be bought cheaply from horse equipment sellers.

Not a chance!
General "fumigant" insecticide, also toxic to other organisms.
From it's benzene ring it's likely highly soluble in wax.
I'd need to know how completely it is removed over time.
Why experiment when there are well tried & tested alternatives?!

Not a chance!
No one’s experimenting I was speaking to a beek that used it in the 80s…

Not a chance!
and nowadays, any trace found in your wax or honey could land you right in the doodoo up to your neck