Show stand...any tips?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
There's a local agricultural/farmers fair in two days and I've been offered a stand. I've never done one before, have nothing except honey, wax, a few candles and a wife who's prepared to sell on my behalf because I'll be at work, so not prepped and little time to do any.

Any show veterans able to offer any tips?

We have a card reader, a friend who's willing to assist and that's about it so far. I was thinking of offering tasting...wooden sticks and a runny and set option or similar. SWMBO is pretty knowledgeable on the hives/bees/processing so can talk bees to anyone who might be interested but if anyone has any ideas and experience I'd be happy to take advice and suggestions.

Thanks

Drape the table with something colourful but not OTT. You need the honey to be centre stage.
Take frame of honey if you have one
Put your smoker on the table and drape a bee suit over the corner
I use paper straws cut in half to dip into tasters.
Watch your customers like a hawk so that they don't double dip
Have some kitchen roll and wet wipes to mop up sticky table and fingers.
Good luck

not prepped and little time to do any
It's an agricultural fair so fit in by using as much used kit as you can to dress the table and provoke conversation.

Hessian table-cloth is ideal (I use old cotton decorating sheets) and take several used smokers which will give off a pungent smell. Stuff the spouts with autumn flowers. Have a Haynes Bee Manual for kids to look at.

Salient points of presentation and selling is to suggest abundance, so fill the table with all the stock that will fit, and get it on and above table level.