Questions about managing honeybee diseases

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

researcher8899

New Bee
Reaction score
Number of Hives
Hi all,

I'm a postgraduate researcher in human geography and will be doing some ethnographic fieldwork with urban beekeepers this summer. I'm particularly interested in how urban beekeepers manage the various diseases which affect their hives, their perspectives on different treatment practices, their views on others who might care for their hives in different ways etc. I'm interested in this theme because, during my limited beekeeping experience, I've noticed that managing diseases is something which tends to illicit very strong emotions, moral judgements and opinions from people eg. wistfulness about times when beekeepers didn't have to medicate their bees, and anger at other beekeepers for going 'treatment-free' for various reasons, and spreading diseases to other people's colonies.

My question is about how delicately I need to treat this topic. Research participants will be fully informed about the research before they agree to take part, I won't be just accosting them on the street to bombard them with questions, but I'd like to know whether managing honeybee diseases is a touchy subject. Are people likely to get offended if I ask them about their disease treatment practices, whether they've ever lost hives to diseases, what they think about honeybee care practices in general? Are they likely to think I'm accusing them of something, or trying to sniff out if they've ever done anything other beekeepers might consider irresponsible? Is this is a topic I should tread on eggshells around, or would it probably be fine to ask questions more directly?

I'd be really grateful for your insights. Thanks!