Cautiously optimistic newbie!

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BoothBees

Dyslexic Keebeeper
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
Number of Hives
Hi,

I thought I'd make an introduction, though there's not much to say as I'm completely new to this hobby.

I don't currently have a hive and I've never kept bees. I've recently taken an interest in the hobby having seen a small apiary in a park that's local to me. I've always had a fondness for bees being a fan of macro photography and keen on conservation. I've decided I'd like to be more active in creating a space for bees.

Here are a few shots I've taken of various bees (not all honey bees of course):

11894220_1033797509994277_6601280153517587650_o.jpg

10700285_850584628315567_7388203598191720061_o.jpg

1966078_850584251648938_8115830259505357351_o.jpg

I'm in the process of buying 9.5 acres of land in Nottinghamshire. The land is being purchased primarily for the purpose of grazing horses. My wife has two horses, so 9.5 acres is an awful lot of land for them to use. I've managed to secure some for my own use. (It's only fair, I'm paying for half of it! :ROFLMAO:)

I'm planning to put it to use in multiple ways:
  • I'm going to plant an orchard of fruit and nut producing trees.
  • I'm going to create a herb garden.
  • I'm going to create a wild-flower meadow.
  • I'm going to create a space for keeping honey bees.
I'm hoping that the above all compliment each other, but more importantly I'm hoping it compliments the bees.

My wife is keen on conservation too, and she loves honey, so she's all for it.