Light on stores advice please

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nessabee

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi I’m hoping for some advice as I’m very new to this I’ve had my girls since June ( lovely gentle Buckfasts ) I fed for about a month then they seemed to be overcrowded so I added a super as I was concerned they might swarm Now I they are very light on stores in brood box but 7 sealed frames in super (which I intend to leave for them over winter as I’m paranoid about losing them) I saw no brood or eggs today (but I’m rubbish at spotting eggs anyway ) & the frames are still covered in bees but I did see the queen .... has she just gone off laying or winding down for winter ? Should I put the super over or under the brood for winter feed & should I treat with Apiguard regardless of very low varoa drop ? Sorry so many questions but just want to get it right

If you've been feeding them constantly for a month they are cetainly not light on stores - having an almost full super will tell you that. If you haven't stopped feeding then I'd say you should stop now.
If you've seen the queen but no brood then there's a good chance she's on a brood break - only time will tell, check again in a few weeks (the need for weekly inspections is way past.)
The frames in the super are sealed, so leave them on top for the winter after removing the queen excluder.
Just be mindful that in the spring, the queen will be up there laying so you'll have to ensure she's down in the broodbox before replacing the excluder.
As a beginner I'd say go ahead and treat now.
Over the winter I suggest you read up a bit on feeding, how much stores bees need etc and start off the next season better armed.

I have such a colony .
you would be better off leaving the super for them ! It’s likely to be contaminated with sugar .