Insulation

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Valleysgirl

New Bee
Reaction score
Number of Hives
Good morning. I’m in South Wales, relatively new to beekeeping and I’ve only got 2 National hives (cedar). Thinking about insulation for winter - does anyone swap their sheet metal covered cedar roofs for deep poly roofs (from Abelo)? Is this a good idea or not? I understand 75% of heat is lost through the roof so an insulated roof is better than no insulation, but is the Abelo poly deep roof compatible with a cedar national? Thanks in advance - I have little experience with over wintering and rain/wet here is a bigger problem than low temperatures.

Thank you. Do you wrap or insulate the brood box too? Or just rely on a well insulated roof?

Me too. I add a square of 25mm silver foil-covered insulation board eg Recticel, Kingspan, Celotex to fit within the Abelo roof.

Attachments

• C522C39D-192E-4D40-B335-A81ECA7E6D8D.jpeg
    C522C39D-192E-4D40-B335-A81ECA7E6D8D.jpeg
    2.7 MB · Views: 54
I just use a wooden roof, albeit a deep one, but I have a sheet of 50mm Kingspan permanently stuck inside the roof all year round, and I add another layer of 50mm Kingspan in an eke on top of the crown board over winter too.
So of course, you can use Abelo poly roofs if you've got them, but you can also vastly improve the insulation in the wooden roofs you've already got.

Can't afford numerous poly roofs but I try and use home made 6 inch roofs.
And insulation like this above the crownboard. IMG_20211006_092836.jpg
Insulation is cut 405mm x 405mm and I've started to just score with a Stanley knife and snap the insulation which saves on sawing and loads of insulation dust.

Edit : I wanted to add some not all roofs which are new I leave the battens out and insulate the roof like @drdrday does.IMG_20210217_114839.jpg