Insulated Hives?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BangerterHarp

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Other
.....I am new to this the Beekeeping forum and I am sure there are threads here that I have yet to read but I wanted to bring up a point that seems so often over looked or otherwise skirted around or ignored entirely. I will do my best to be as brief as I can force myself to be...
..... If we were to go back in time before humans took over choice of hive from Apis Mellifera , the species chose suitable hives for their environment or they perished. By suitable , that could mean a well insulated tree hollow or the static environment of a deep crack in a rock face. Of course , in a mild climate like the Mediterranean bees would need less substantial shelter and it is entirely reasonable that the standard 3/4"(19mm) box so commonly used by beekeepers around the world might be sufficient . Still this thin walled box , so convenient for the beekeeper , does very little to shelter the bees from the sweltering summer heat in comparison to a hollow in a tree or crag in a rock face.
.....For those of us and our charges who live with more hostile winters it simply is beyond my ability to imagine why we should belief our bees should do equally well in such a poorly conceived , from the bees standpoint , design. I would akin that belief with shaving your house pet , kicking them out into the snow , expecting them to thrive , then being surprised and frustrated at the discovery come spring that your supposedly beloved pet has perished.