Honey Harvest is done now what do I do??

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LauraB

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
WBC
Number of Hives
I’m in my first year and wondering what I need to do now I’ve taken some honey off.

I have 2 hives in my garden, one of which I have managed to extract some honey from ~ 15lb off 6 frames, the other came from an AS of Hive 1 so no honey off them! I started the varroa treatment (on both) when I took the honey off.

Hive 1
I don’t think I need to feed as I reckon there’s about 25-30lb of stores – is this right?
I’ve put the empty frames back on the hive but they’re in the 2nd super with 2 full ish but uncapped honey frames in as well. Do I leave 2 supers on for winter, wouldn’t this be too cold for them, or if I should remove them what do I do with the frames and the possible honey in them?

Hive 2
I think they need about 10-15lb stores for winter, what does this equate to in sugar syrup weight?

What else do I need to do, other than buy a new bee book to read over winter (any recommendations)?!

Thanks

Hi Laura

Going into winter I aim to have 40 -45lb of stores on each hive ( I feed syrup to make up the short fall) During the winter months I lift the rear of the hive to gage how much stores are there, if stores are low I feed with fondant.

Hope this helps

John

your two supers should be above the crownboard. i think you need to damage the capping on any capped frames in them. bees will take all the honey down and then you can remove the supers before winter.