candle making

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tindam188

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
sorry if this post is in the incorrect place, could not find anywhere more specific to write it.

As this is my first year starting beekeeping i wanted to find out how other people clean wax (get rid of pollen, small amounts of honey etc) as my first attempt with some old frames took a lot of time to clean up to candle quality wax.

Any advice for speeding up the process of purifying wax

thanks in advance

tindam188

Washing in cold water will get rid of remaining honey or let the bees do it. Don't worry about the pollen for now.

Thoroughly dry if washed.

Put the pieces into an old glass jar large enough for the job and place in the microwave at high for say two minutes to start. Keep adding wax and repeat as it melts and dirt/pollen lumps fall to the bottom. This 'muck' will be about 15% by volume so make allowance for this as you want to cast the candle in one go.

Pour carefully from the jar into your mould. The dirt will be left behind.

Might not give show quality candles but they still turn out very nice.

Quick and simple.

I melt my wax in a little water then pour the whole lot through muslin into another pan to set. Solids are trapped in the muslin and any hony diluted in the water.

I place wax in a wire basket lined with a disposable nappy liner, and sit it on top of a pyrex bowl with a dash of vinegar in the bottom. Then I put the whole lot in a food steamer for 20mins.