Another Nuc to BB scenario?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dickbowyer

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Some hives and a few nucs
Have very active hive, bees on 8-9 frames and looking to do shook swarm soon(ish) as great weather here in Sussex and loads of bloom to get onto new foundation as frames are very old > 4yrs old and to reduce varroa (did OA treatment jan BTW). Have overwintered nuc with 2010 queen on similarly old frames and want to get onto new foundation. Thought to put 5 nuc frames in bb with dummy boards and then new bb with foundation above and feed but had negative advice! Novice question but could I put the excess "bee free" broad frames from shook swarm old bb in with nuc frames to build up nuc bee numbers prior to bailey comb change? Be gentle I am only a novice!

The phrase "very old" referring to brood frames to me refers to 50 yrs+

I have never done a shook swarm for a comb change and frankly I canna see myself doing it. It may work in the sunny south but is it advisable further north?

Discuss.

You say your colony is strong covering x frames of combs. Sorry but this is meaningless.

If you tell the forum your colony has x frames of brood, at x% of brood per frame then you are imparting serious information.

PH

If I have got it right you are wanting to give back, the very old frames that you are trying to get rid of back to the bees?
It is still very early in the season to be doing something as drastic as a shook swarm. If you damage the queen in the process there wont be much chance of a new queen mating yet as there are not many drones about.

This is all wrong.

Oxalic acid treatment followed by further 'varroa treatment' after just a couple of months, and just because the weather is good, you intend to do a shook swarm?