What different types of honey do you sell

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I've been beekeeping for 4 years but only this year have I had enough to sell. I've always had OSR near to me but have never found spring honey to crystallise - no idea why. Anyway of course this year it has. I've been selling to friends and friends of friends via facebook and no one minds - I've just told them to warm it through a bit. I obviously want to get a bit more organised next year. I've read about producing soft set honey with the seeding method which all sounds a bit of a faff to be honest and requires you to warm the honey to a higher degree than I thought you should. I recently found a method where you just heat it to 37 degree and mix it well to break up the crystals and then it turns into soft set which I tried with one jar the other day and it's worked beautifully. If this works I can't see the advantage of doing the more complicated method of seeding. I've take a small amount of summer honey now so will see what this does but I'm intrigued at what types of honey you people who have been selling for years actually sell. I plan to make some soft set next year from spring honey but should you actually just heat spring honey to also have runny honey (if so to what temperature is acceptable) or does this have to just be summer honey?

Sorry this is a bit garbled I just have heard some people say that honey should not be heated so am interested in what types others sell and methods you use.

I sell soft set, spring honey, summer honey and cut comb.
I make soft set from summer honey because my spring honey is from Hawthorn and is too beautiful a colour to soft set. Customers appreciate the difference in the darker spring honey and the much lighter summer crop and usually buy both.