Honey set in Bucket - options please

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Niv

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi All,
I am looking for options on what to do with a bucket of honey I have that has set. My first thought was maybe I should make soft set with this batch. Does that sound like the best idea?

If so, can anyone link / give a simple guide to making it. I am a hobbyist and do not have a set up for making soft set so I am looking for a small scale one off type solution. Do I need to make my seed honey or do people tend to buy something in?

Thanks,

Hi All,
I am looking for options on what to do with a bucket of honey I have that has set. My first thought was maybe I should make soft set with this batch. Does that sound like the best idea?

If so, can anyone link / give a simple guide to making it. I am a hobbyist and do not have a set up for making soft set so I am looking for a small scale one off type solution. Do I need to make my seed honey or do people tend to buy something in?

Thanks,
What size bucket is it ? 30lbs will take about 8 to 12 hours surrounded by water at 40 degrees to fully return to liquid.

I use one of these ... takes 30lb bucket (square or round) and maintains the temperature thermostatically.

Without one you may have to improvise .. airing cupboard, oven on very low, insulated box with a tube heater ? Lots of options but if it's a big tub it's going to take many many bowls of boiling water to solve the problem.

Attachments

• 1030917-sead-1800-b1.jpg
    1030917-sead-1800-b1.jpg
    5.2 KB · Views: 7
Last edited:
What size bucket is it ? 30lbs will take about 8 to 12 hours surrounded by water at 40 degrees to fully return to liquid.

I use one of these ... takes 30lb bucket (square or round) and maintains the temperature thermostatically.