Small-scale beekeeping & economic feasibility

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

didi

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
Number of Hives
Hello everyone,

I hope this message finds you well. I'm reaching out to seek your insights and creative solutions when it comes to making small-scale beekeeping economically feasible and sustainable. I will give a presentation about this to a group of small-scale beekeepers in Oslo, and I am surprised at the lack of information and inspiration online! However I have some experience myself in small-scale beekeeping in the city and how to have a decent livelihood (partial) without having to scale up.

To frame this discussion, I've already categorised my solutions broadly, and I'm sharing this list with you below :)
I'm particularly interested in hearing your thoughts about it! Please do add if you have other creative solutions, or any inputs about what I've shared in this list:

Short food supply chain solutions: Leveraging platforms like Facebook-based groups (Reko Ring is one of these that we have here in Norway) and producer-to-consumer websites
Collaborating with CSAs (Community-Supported Agriculture)
Exploring opportunities for bulk sales, especially in the hospitality industry, including restaurants, hotels, and cocktail bars
Diversifying product line and services, such as offering non-honey products, mentorship programs, and creating an experience economy through apiary visits

I appreciate your time and your insights. Thank you in advance for your contribution!