moving from old hive to new

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nematode

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I am a novice and have a question that sounds stupid. However,i am told that there is no such thing as a stupid question.

If I want to move bees from an old hive into a new hive (same hive type), is is simply a matter of putting the new hive in the same sopt as the old one and moving the frames accross?

Yes. Keep the frames in the same order as before.

Welcome and there is no such thing as a silly question. I've asked a few myself!:confused:

I have just moved the bees from the old box to the new box. I moved the old box to the side then put the new box where the old one was. With the two of as close as possible I simply transferred the combs over. I did not really try and look for the queen as this was my first ever time opening and looking at bees on my own, and the second time I have ever looked into a bee hive at all! I did not want to mess about and upset them too much. Most of the bees stayed on the frames and I think I was gentle with them. I brushed the last few from the old box into the new box. I saw what I think were plenty of brood frames and a few capped honey. Only one frame half drawn foundation. Now my question is; what next? When do I super?

Just as long as you understand, I am the queen of the stupid question. Does anyone remember the umbrella one? I'm pretty new to beekeeping too. I am being trusted for the first time to check all the frames myself next week and I am so excited about it. It's taken a while, but I'm getting there. It's very exciting isn't it :)