2nd Place at honey show

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

moby

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
View attachment 5361

I entered my first honey show and got a 2nd for my photographic efforts compared to the other entries and comments it should have done better..... normally I am not a competitive person but after several hours of tinkering following the bees arround and cursing I managed to get a bee and borage in focus and facing the correct way.... any comments / advice from photographers welcome

Well I think it should've got a 1st, if only for the borage :)

Having tried to capture a few macro shots of bees with a less than ideal lens I know how difficult it can be. I think you have got a nice picture there.

I am no expert photographer but one thing i have learned about my own photography is that sometimes I need to get closer or crop the photo.

I did that with your shot. Not saying it is any better than the original, but I think it draws the eye more onto the bee.

Might have been better to have posted it in the Microscopy & Photography forum, but you could always post in there for opinions and link to your picture.

Last edited:
I once entered the men's fruit cake in the local show, and mine was miles better than any of the others, but it didn't get anywhere.

You just can't get the quality of judges these days.

Having tried to capture a few macro shots of bees with a less than ideal lens I know how difficult it can be. I think you have got a nice picture there.

I am no expert photographer but one thing i have learned about my own photography is that sometimes I need to get closer or crop the photo.

I did that with your shot. Not saying it is any better than the original, but I think it draws the eye more onto the bee.