Worker laying drone

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Number of Hives
Hi

Just notice a very similar thread but we are a bit later in the year now.

I have two hives, and I am absolute beginner from last year.
First real inspection today after winter. One hive is absolutely with bursting bees with frame after frame of freshly capped brood and eggs/lave.
The other hive has a lot less bees, still a reasonable amount but nothing like the other. There is absolutely no capped bread and only random bits of drone brood. Not sure how long they have been without a queen but there does seem to still be quite a lot bees so don’t think it has been too long.
I placed a frame of eggs/brood from my full hive into this hive but then an hour later I decided to order a mated queen.

Two questions,

1. As they are hopelessly queeenless and I have now ordered a queen, I take it should remove that frame quickly as I don’t want them started to build their own queen? Although will the extra capped brood help?

2. Was I right to order a new queen?

Thanks

Using WBC 14x12

As they are hopelessly queeenless
How do you know that?
Was I right to order a new queen
not really

You don't know they're queenless, just that there is no brood.
A test frame should have been your first move, if they build QC's they are queenless
If they don't build QC's - you still don't know

Who’s supplying the new queen and when..most early 1s are booked up fast.
If your new queen is some time off I’d be inclined to shake the drone laying hive out and when queen arrives make up a nuc to introduce her to from the strong hive.

Hi

Just notice a very similar thread but we are a bit later in the year now.

I have two hives, and I am absolute beginner from last year.