Will my bees swarm if i over feed them fo winter?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

busy bees

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hello i know this is going to probably sound very stupid. I am new to beekeeping and have one hive. Here it goes... when i feed the bees for winter can i over feed them so they run out of room an maybe swarm? or will they stop taking any more syrup and not swam? Thanks Adam

Normally they simply stop taking the feed. But with bees one can never really say 'never'.....

RAB

Thankyou! When would you normally start feeding the bees for winter? (In your area?) I wont keep asking you questions dont worry lol.

Eric gave you the correct mix but you'll need a lot more than one pint. Get a gallon on and see how this goes. Add more later if they'll take it.

Getting late so do it immediately.

And no, they won't swarm.

Before you feed gallons, pints or pounds (whatever they are), it might be sensible to assess the needs of the bees. Some need a lot and others not a lot.

RAB

Give them a gallon. If they want it, they'll take it down. If they want more, give it to them.

If not, you've only lost the price of the sugar.

If they do, you have most likely given your colony its best chance of getting through the winter.

Little to lose - everything to gain.

Your choice!

Hi Adam, Im a newbee too - in my second year and I had the very same thought re swarming a couple of weeks ago.. even looked through my books to see what I could find out on the topic of overfeeding and swarming this time of year. One quick call to my mentor put me right.