Weekly check sheet

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Number of Hives
Hi Everyone

I'm in my first year and have been donated a hive with a colony already established.

I a little daunted but excited about what lies ahead ad wondered if anyone has a check sheet (ideally with pictures) I can use for the weekly check until I'm more confident.

I have done the course and have a mentor but they won't be with me all the time.

Thanks

Simon

Welcome to the craft Morriss! Weekly checks looking through the brood box are not needed or advised until mid-April - then needed to monitor possible swarm preparations. Have you got a bee book eg Haynes Manual and do you take Beecraft? BBKA News, Jan 2023, p18-19 has a Beekeeping Year Planner with a useful monthly planner

A really good starters book is 'bees at the bottom of the garden'. Easy read
Hopefully your mentor will help but the main points are
Why are you inspecting ?
When you find what you are inspecting for, do you have the kit to deal with it?
Write down what you have seen and what you need to do at the next inspection
Read your notes before you inspect the next time!!!!
If you see a problem you didn't expect then close the hive up and ask. Do not do something you might later regret.
We have all been there
Good luck

As soon as you begin any inspection, the little training or knowledge you have will kick in , like all of us learning mistakes will be made along the way.
Before one goes in to hive you need to know why you are doing so, early on it is generally looking for build up and ratio of brood, is the queen laying well , plenty of eggs to larvae and sealed brood initially (no need to spend time looking for the Q, just a good ratio and laying pattern of eggs is enough whether a small patch or a couple frames to determine she is about).