Starting off with 2 nucs - advice please!

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Busybee123

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi, I'm new to beekeeping and currently doing a preliminary beekeeping course. I'm intending getting two nucs this spring. My question is:

Would I be better getting the two nucs from different sources (and thus have a bit of genetic variability in my bees)?

Or would I be better to get both nucs from the same source (and therefore reduce the risk of cross infection with any pests/diseases)?

I intend to use the two nucs as the basis to build up a few (maybe 6 to 8) colonies over the next couple of years. I live in the country and I don't believe there are any other beekeepers within a couple of miles or so.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Tom bee-smillie

I would buy my two nucs from the same trusted supplier and given that you want to expand them, feed them well.

Have extra equipment handy and ready for use. At the first sign of preparation for swarming, divide the affected colony into two, or if it is large enough - ask at the time - into three, with the queen and flying bees in one box and the other box/es with a queen cell. Feed until established.

Box means hive or nuc as appropriate. You should be able to end the season with between four and six colonies and little or no honey.

Assuming six colonies, In your second year do a shook swarm on two colonies, donating frames of brood to other colonies. Feed the shook swarm to enable it to draw out comb. These two colonies should be good for producing a honey crop and are unlikely to think of swarming much before the end of June.

The remaining four colonies can be treated as you wish, and used for making nucs or honey, depending on how you split them.