Soft Manky Beeswax Polish problem

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thymallus

Drone Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Other
I've been making beeswax polish for a few years now and never experienced a problem before.

Ran out of my last batch of turpentine (source not remembered) so bought some more off flea bay (see threads on this topic for details), Rustins pure Turpentine, even says on the bottle that it can be used for making beeswax polish. Rustins is the brand of turps that both Thornes and Wyn Jones sell.

Using my usual recipe that has always given me a nice firm set polish that gives a wonderful shine on wood . Only this time it didn't set........it was like a very soft manky cream, totally unfit for purpose. Figured I must have weighed the wax wrongly, remelted and added more wax.....this time it set in wrinkles and still very soft and non useable.

Anyone else ever had this experience when making beeswax with Rustins Turpentine or any other for that matter.

I'm perplexed. My only thoughts are that given the price of pure turps these days there may be some adulterated stuff out there, bit like Manuka honey.

I'd appreciate any input before I go out and buy any more of the stuff.

Did you add a small amount of Carnauba wax to your mixture? Helps to harden it up - but don't add too much.

Yes I do. It's a simple recipe I've been using for a few years and this is the first time it's ever let me down (120gms bees wax, 12 gms Carnauba , 250 mls of turps). Usually sets firm (not hard) and easy to use. This stuff was very soft and manky looking. Still polishes up a treat but not something I would sell. Itt's more like a cream.
The only difference that I can see was I used a different batch of turpentine (NOT substitute).