Should I check the bees in this weather?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trevort

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hello all,
Here in Norfolk it's been fairly changeable on the weather front, as, according to the forecast has everywhere else.

I haven't checked my bees for 9 days now and i'm concerned that i should have done so.
Since i'm a novice at this I feel that I should be doing as they said on the couse; checking every 7 days, especially in the swarm season.
I expect that no self respecting bee will consider swarming in all this blustery rainy stuff we're having but....
Has anyone any thoughts re when to check according to the weather?
Up to now, apart from the odd weekend following a 7 day routine was no problem.
How cold/windy/wet does it need to be before you call a halt?
I suspect in general that the temperature is ok at the moment but I don't want to open up and do more harm than good.

Thanks in advance
TT

SWMBO totally REFUSED to hold up a golfing brolly for me this PM when I HAD to open up a hive to get some new brood to feed the incubatee queens I am now up to my ears in!!!

What a bu**ers muddle!
brolly would not stay on spike in ground... PI**ING down with torrential Tamar rain and smoker got drowned... and I had to wait for new brood to emerge....
at least it was warm!!!!!

I forgot those dammed Ps PPPPP... proper preparation prevents poor perfomance.....

and what a performance!!!

:iagree:

Hi Trevor, I too am in Norfolk and fell into this trap at the end of May when the weather was about 16 degrees and windy for what seemed like ages.