Product Design student looking for insight into beekeeping!

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

saaarawr

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi everyone!

My name is Sarah and I am currently studying Industrial Product Design at Coventry University. Presently, I am in my final year of study doing market research into product areas and the one that is of most interest to me and also happens to be a massive current affair is our depleting bee population.

I was hoping if anyone could give me some insight into the problems you may have been suffering from our bee's becoming lost, suffering from disease and so forth.
Also, how did you get into the trade yourself? Is it you're full time job or as a hobby?
Also what types of hives do you use, and the advantages and disadvantages you have found from materials, construction or user relationship.
Just to make sure it is understood, I have no intention of redesigning bee-keeping, but as a student to understand the issues surrounding bee's and bee-keeping and how new design could be used to address these problems. Purely academic! It would be great for some feedback:) Any user insight would be really helpful.

Thank you!

Sarah

Hi Sara,

Funny question to ask on a beekeepers forum as the answer is all in previous posts :). about 9/10 posts will be about what you just asked.

Anyways:

most of us are just hobbyists and have fun faffing around with bees.

the main problems in my opinion are

Varroa and the diseases it spreads
pesticides (neonicotinoids are a hot topic nowadays)
monoculture of crops in certain areas leaving periods of dearth in the year

design wise, I think the only thing you can work on is the husbandry so focus on

ergonomics for the beekeeper
cost
environmental factors: heat loss, ventilation etc...
Hygiene and disease prevention

good luck with your design work