Money Saving Tips for Beekeepers

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alynewbee

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Hi All,

In a different thread, I mentioned that I'd just bought a hive strap at an auction for £6 - to be told that I could have bought 2 for £2.50 from Tesco out of the motoring section!

Does any thrifty beekeeper have any money saving tips they'd like to pass on? I'd certainly be most keen to hear them.

Thanks
Aly

Learn to build your own kit. Saves ££££

Go for (more) "natural beekeeping" - I got to 3 colonies of bees, hives, and everything I needed for under £150 all-in........ built my own hives from free plans - there is no foundation to buy as the bees build what they want/need (etc)..........

Hi Im new to beekeeping just under a year and i say always do your homework before buying , plan ahead if you can and you can save some serious pennies if you shop around.

Depends if time is money. So easy to buy and assemble ready made kit, I have made my own in the past but not any more.
E

Go for (more) "natural beekeeping" - I got to 3 colonies of bees, hives, and everything I needed for under £150 all-in........ built my own hives from free plans - there is no foundation to buy as the bees build what they want/need (etc)..........

More natural than what? You still KEEP them in boxes I presume?

John Wilkinson

Dinna bother John it's not worth winding him up, let him blast away on his other forums.

No wonder there is aye trouble at the demos in London if its a fair sample of the mentality.

PH

Dinna bother John it's not worth winding him up, let him blast away on his other forums.

No wonder there is aye trouble at the demos in London if its a fair sample of the mentality.

PH
Wind him up? Never ,he's self winding !