Is this season a swarmy one..or is it just me?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I'm the first to admit, I'm a beginner!, loads of technical theoretical knowledge from books, associations, club meetings and of course the rather marvelous Beekeeping forum ( my no1 go to for advise /banter:))
Now in my second year beekeeping. First year felt like a steep learning curve but I now realise that compared to my second year the first year was a doddle.
Last Friday I saw my first swarm, safely contained on a bush in my garden. I do think on reflection this was a possible combination cast swarm, with more than one queen, That's my excuse anyway for managing to catch most of them only to find a few pockets of maybe 150 or so, clinging onto fence posts, laying on the grass, or finding whatever awkward bush they could find to make my reclamation more challenging.
Since last Friday I have now witnessed 7! swarms from my 2 hives, the one today 1 hour ago, I saw coming out of the hive, building up outside ( great noise), all captured on video, watched them do the twister, and follow the queen or queens approximately, 25 feet to the West and settle on a blackberry bush. So I have another opportunity later this afternoon to practice another swarm capture. So far I've found the most effective has been to use a 5 frame poly nuc, shake majority of bees into nuc, lid on, small hole opening and just let the rest make their way in.