How far should bait boxes be from a hive

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Doey

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
This is probably a stupid question but how far away should bait boxes be from a hive and also what kind of distance should they be spaced out?
As I'm new to bee keeping I don't have any old comb to put in the boxes so what would be the best alternative?
Thanks

Depends on what space you have. Mine catch swarms about 30m from the hives, but of course they are never from my colonies. ! I have read about 50- 100m is best.
You have no old comb, so a frame of foundation, and an empty frame, with a couple of drops of lemon grass oil.
Bait hives are best if about 40L ( national BB size), facing south and well off the ground. Mine go on shed roofs.

Space isn't really an issue where my hive is, as I've only one hive I'd like to try and catch a swarm to add another hive.
I've made 3 national broad boxes to use as traps, would mid April be about the right time to put the bait boxes out?

I don't think you need to be that fussy about distance. A little while back one of my colonies swarmed and moved into a stack of unused brood chambers no more than ten metres away from their original home. That's a mess I have to sort out this year.

James

Last question would you use an under floor entrance with a bait box?

Last question would you use an under floor entrance with a bait box?
My bait boxes have UFE yes, but a solid floor
You say you have another hive? If you scrape some propolis from it, use it to paint inside your bait box
You can buy swarm lures from the usual suspects as well

how far away should bait boxes be from a hive

As far away as possible

(unless your garden/land is more than 200m long, in which case that's probably enough).