Glueing ID Discs to Queens Thorax

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Plenty of honey

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Dadant
Number of Hives
260 + (Nucs and Honey production)
Hi all. Anyone have much experience of actually attaching the tiny marker id tags to queens thorax's? I have no experience with this and always used to wait until the queen was mated, however, since I've been using the incubator, its soo much easier to mark them before they go off and mate. Whats the best way to apply the glue, I've seen one video with a guy who holds the virgin in a slotted grove while he applies the tiny dot of glue to her thorax and then once the small metal plate is glued on, she's held by a magnetic pen which holds her by the metalic disc.
https://youtu.be/qEqtDDuBUXQ
Seems simple and very effective, but whats the real deal, is it just simpler to mark her with a standard marking paint we use?

I do like the idea of numbered discs. First virgins out next week so trying to get well organised!

Last edited:
Could knock them out with co2

I have one of those and used it last year. I used the style of queen cage where you can line her up in a straight line. Applied the glue etc. Be aware though, I think they balled her because of the glue smell being fresh.
She survived though. A cautious reintroduction is needed.

If I use it again this year I may do it by hand or just use paint like most.