Best Place to buy a NUC

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

highgate

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Dear All,

I am new to beekeeping and have joined my local beekeepers association and taken the taster and beginners course.

I was hoping to get started this year, but was wondering where the best places to get a reasonably priced NUC preferably in April/ May if possible.

My primary concern would be for the bees to be of a good temperemant as I do have two young and very curious children.

If it makes a difference, I live in North London.

PS Second question, is to do with buying the National. Here I was wondering whether it would be OK to buy on of the pine/ cheaper wood hives off of cheap bay and treating it with linseed oil/ beeswax/ painting or worth paying up for a Cedar pre-built Uber-hive (twice or thrice the price)

Any suggestions very gratefully accepted ;-)

1) where to buy a Nuc of bees? A bit like asking where to buy a car in relation to the answers you will get. Someone may make a recommendation where someone else may have had a bad experience with the same place.

I’d ask within your association I’m sure someone would help you out. Our association quite often provide caught swarms for new members (ok not always best but could be re queened)

2) how much do you want to spend & what do you want it to look like? You may find the same thing cheaper through one of the traders rather than an auction site.

I went for pine boxes and painted them (decorative) for the garden. Made all my own floors, roofs, stands & crown boards.

Works for me but options are endless
Good luck which ever route you decide
Wingy

Dear All,