A couple of newbie Insulation questions.

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SafetyThird

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi all, I'm in my first year of beekeeping and just getting my 2 hives set up for the winter. I've been feeding syrup and they've taken plenty of it down so I'm getting ready for a final close up of the season soon.

I've been reading about insulating the hives, ventilation and the various options. As I run open mesh floors, I'm leaning towards having a solid crown board (or at least one with a hole covered by a piece of slate) with 100mm of celotex above it, within an empty super, as I have some spare sheets from a building project.

I understand that ventilation from the OMF will be sufficient but do you remove the varoa board from underneath the mesh or leave that in place? If it's left in place, is there sufficient airflow for the required ventilation?

The other question is, how do you then feed any fondant? Should I have a second piece of insulation with a hole cut in it for a box of fondant? Do you then insulate over the top of the fondant box?

Thanks.

I understand that ventilation from the OMF will be sufficient but do you remove the varoa board from underneath the mesh or leave that in place? If it's left in place, is there sufficient airflow for the required ventilation?

The purpose of the board is to help you monitor the natural mite drop, which is performed early in the spring (late Feb / early March but depending on when early pollen sources are available in your area).
Personally, I take it out.

You'll get a dozen different answers for this one...