Will all bees eventually swarm?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Number of Hives
I am in my second year of bee keeping.
From what I have read so far a bees inclination to swarm is all about space.

My question is if you were to always provide enough brood space does that stop the urge to swarm or does natural instinct eventually just kick in anyway and they will want to swarm anyway?

If not adding extra boxes can I just keep creating space by taking frames of brood away to help other colonies and keep hives from reaching full capacity?

Bees in a hive are bees in a hive. If they die they are all dead. Bees reproduce by swarming. Reproduction is necessary to continue the species. It is in their genes. All bees need to swarm. You may get away with it for a year, even two or three but eventually they will swarm.

Bees are inclined to swarm its natural, in some well bred bees breeders have worked to reduce that inclination. It’s not always about space but if you provide both super and additional laying space it certainly helps. Cramming even well bred bees will result in swarming.
You can balance out hives but it’s a chore if your continually doing it and I’m not sure there’s such a thing as capacity if your adding space, I’ve had and seen some real towers in the past.
Part of beekeeping is managing your hives you want a large work force at the right time of year, a decent large hive will often outperform several mediocre ones,

Young queens space ahead of time in both supers and the brood area will all help. But learning a method of swarm control or prevention is also part of the job.

From what I have read so far a bees inclination to swarm is all about space.
It's also about reproduction and increasing colonies