Second Brood box Vs Super/s

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nick Lang

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Only one
So.....I bought in a new queen from Black Mountain Honey.....lovely queen...made up a nuc with three frames of capped brood and some stores on 26 may......checked them on 4 June....they were rammed, brood everywhere and they were desperately building come to fill any space.......so moved them into a full size national deep brood box.
Went in today... they've almost filled the brood box and nearly all frames have brood in them....I'm only in my third year keeping bees, but to me I think they need more space???
Should I be adding another brood box ....or should I add a super???
Ta

you should have added a super when they were on about seven frames of brood, but if she's filled a whole box with brood in short order, a single national deep is never going to be enough for her. Go double brood.
What type of queen did you buy off him?

Should I move some of the frames up into the second Brood box?
Put your new box straight on top, slip a frame of sealed brood from below into the centre andvthe bees will happily move up and do the rest. On future inspections if any of the top box frames are filled with nectar push them to the edges and push foundation up against any frames of brood.

There are no supers on the hive....I literally only created this as a nuc three weeks ago.... it's gone from a three frame nuc to a rammed full national brood box in that time.....it has caught me by surprise really

move some of the frames up into the second Brood box?
Definitely, though I'd move up three or so frames of open brood, to get the nurse bees and queen up and prevent the use of the box as a super. Sealed below has less need for warmth, and will give it to the open above.

caught me by surprise