What's the best hive for a beginer?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris Ibbo

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
8 colonies
Hi everyone, I'm new to this and I'm wanting some advice on my first hive. What hive shall I get? I've looked at a national, a NUC and a polystyrene NUC. Is it worth having a polystyrene or wooden NUC? When I could get a national hive and add to it? Where is the best place to get a secound hand hive? Thanks for any advice people. Chris.

Suggest you join your local association and see what they use. You will get experience handling different hive types ( hopefully) to see what suits you best. If you decide to go with the hive that is the most popular, then you can easily swap equipment ( or bees). They are also a good source of second hand equipment, but if buying second hand take an experienced beek you trust with you.

There is no set answer, depends on your preference, where you live, style of beekeeping, your fitness and ability to lift ( full hives - especially the bigger ones are very heavy).

It is late in season to be thinking about setting up now. Might be better to read up over the winter, go on a course ( local assoc), and get to handle some one else's bees first - main suppliers have good sales over the Xmas period too.

Last edited:
Suggest you join your local association and see what they use. You will get experience handling different hive types ( hopefully) to see what suits you best. If you decide to go with the hive that is the most popular, then you can easily swap equipment ( or bees). They are also a good source of second hand equipment, but if buying second hand take an experienced beek you trust with you.