Top bar

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Heather

Queen Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Help.. I was given a top bar hive last year..
Put in a few prepared frames and the rest blank to total 20 . Popped a prime swarm in last June.. Just checked regularly via the side window, treated for varroa in December and now they are getting big! 14 frames beautifully extended down and out.. bees very busy.
Don't want to disturb them, and never looked for a queen, but should I be checking every frame, and doing any manipulations..
They are going to have filled this hive in a month, cannot do a swarm control into another hive, but don't want them to swarm as that is a nuisance to all.

All advice welcomed.

Hi,

I am no expert, but I do have a top bar...

Generally I check a few bars from edge in to make sure I see stores / brood, and make sure the comb isn't attached to the sides of the hive so it is easier to pull them out without breaking. Other than that I have left mine.

Not too sure how you can stop swarms without giving them more space! If you have honey on those bars, you could harvest it which will give them more room...

Am sure someone knowledgeable will be around soon.

Sent from my GM1903 using Tapatalk

I'm not knowledgeable! But I have split a kTBH.
You can do a spit within the hive itself as long as you have several corked holes.
It does require moving the hive a few feet, so not really anything you could do on your own.
It involves moving the hive so that one of the blocked end entrances is then then where the old entrance is.
You put bars with eggs and brood at this end and move the queen down the other, both separated by dummy boards.
You then remove the cork from the stopper at the other end where the queen is (preferably on the opposite side).