swarming nuc

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nuc

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Hi folks, i'm just beginning with bees but feel like it's a crash course at the moment.
Bought my first nuc about 7 weks ago and they were great at first, nice and gentle, foraging, laying, etc. Then 10 days ago they swarmed up a nearby oak tree. Managed to retrieve them and house in a new hive but they absconded after 2 days. Swarm lost, remaining bees with plenty of brood/stores and several Q cells.
Then 3 days ago the nuc swarmed again, most likely with a virgin Q. Straight to the top of the same tree. Much too high this time so quickly made a bait hive and nailed it to a nearby tree. This morning they are still up the top of the oak.
Not many bees left in nuc now but plenty of brood.
As i see it all the comb was full and the foundation in the BB was not being drawn very quickly so they ran out of space to lay although still only occupying 6 frames in brood. Not having enough drawn comb could be the problem.
Suppose i should of AS them but inexperience caught me out.
What do i do with the nuc now ? The comb is still full up so dont want another swarm or i'll have no bees left. They have several Q cells.
Please help. Nuc.

Dear Nuc,

where are you located as that is the first thing I look at.

Have you a mentor, and were you feeding them?

PH

peak lake testing....

You're right PH, not helpful. From previous posts these were in a Nat box beginning of June and being fed. Have you come across swarming before the BB is filled out? Faulty queen?

Last edited: