replace a queen

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shrekfeet

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I'm pretty new to this bee keeping lark. SO much to learn and so little time.
Anyway I have a colony that came to me as a swarm last year. didn't take any honey off them and fed fondant in winter - one pack and half of it is still left.

Did my spring check today and found the queen but no sign of brood. Some capped honey remains but not much. didn't seem to be many bees but a fair few returning with pollen. Noticed a number (say 50) of dead bees in cells, facing up with no caps.

Should I be seeing brood? Should I replace the queen before I lose the colony? Arrrgh help please

Did you see any eggs
I would leave her alone at moment look again in two weeks time

no sign of eggs
fondant remaining but there may have been access problems due to how the plastic wrapping had fallen
Should I feed syrup to be sure?

Shrek

If you've got bees coming in with pollen there's brood somewhere - so don't even think of replacing the Queen yet! I fancy you've done something wrong - and what's with the winter fondant, didn't you feed syrup in the autumn?
Bees dead of starvation are in the comb head down
Clean the feeder hole out and put a contact feeder on with syrup (2lbs sugar 2 pints water). You could also get a gardeners handspray and mist the the frames with syrup - as starvation is the No 1 risk.
And on the next warm (15C) day carefully go through the frames and try to consolidate the brood.....making sure not to damage the queen.
Let us know how it goes!
richard

Last edited: