Question about Shallow Supers

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LeeBargh

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi,

Just joined and looking for a bit of advice.

I'm new to bee keeping (no bees yet, still waiting for my NUC to arrive). I purchased a Flow Hive Classic, which is actually an 8 Frame Langstroth. I am finding that this is going to be more difficult, as most people in the local society I joined have Nationals..

Spent that much money on it that there is no going back for now.

Anyway, I'm thinking ahead to possible issues. One is that the Brood box is only 8 Frames, do you guys think that would be a problem? I see most Nationals are 10 Frame...and I'm worried about overcrowding in my second year and swarming.

The other is over-wintering. I'm thinking of buying a normal Langstroth Super and not using the Flow Frames and Flow Hive Super this year (it's an 8 Frame Deep Super). Let them collect resources in a normal Langstroth Super and over-winter with it.

Good idea? Also - If I do that i'm thinking I might be better with a shallow Langstroth Super with shallow frames, so it doesn't get too cold over winter...your thoughts?

Many Thanks

Lee

I think you raelly need to gain a bit of beekeeping knowledge before going any further - a Langstroth hive is bigger than a national so the number of frames don't really come into it.
#Why do you think you need a super for overwintering.

Last edited:
Hi,

Just joined and looking for a bit of advice.

I'm new to bee keeping (no bees yet, still waiting for my NUC to arrive). I purchased a Flow Hive Classic, which is actually an 8 Frame Langstroth. I am finding that this is going to be more difficult, as most people in the local society I joined have Nationals..

Spent that much money on it that there is no going back for now.