Prospective beekeeper - needs kick up backside!

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AndreaW

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Commercial
Number of Hives
Okay newbie here :)

I have joined my local BKA and have been on the theory course, currently waiting for the practical course to begin. I still haven't bought bees/hive etc.

Need some gentle / massive kick up backside to order a hive / find somewhere to put it. Sounds stupid but I seem to be going round in circles of do I order hive and then just hope that I find somewhere to place it (not sure that the neighbours are going to let me put it in the garden and I have a 6 and 8 year old that play in garden), or get somewhere to place it first then order hive. Also do I order two or just order one and order another in a few months time when I actually have some bees (BKA is encouraging two hives rather than one). Pretty decided to get commercial hive and have national supers on it.

I know this is really stupid as the waiting list for hives will start once everyone on the beekeeping courses starts to order them. I am trying to put myself on the waiting list for a 5 frame nuc from a recommended supplier.

How does everyone start - get hive then try to find a site? I'm sure it would help to have one available if and when I find a farmer who will say yes....
I'm not great at knocking on doors of farmhouses and am getting myself in a vicious circle of leaving things.

Which comes first the hive or the site (chicken or egg)?:smilielol5:

Sorry for the epic. Need someone to just tell me to get on with it, daunting amount of money though.

Might be an idea to buy some bees first and ask the seller to look after them until you have a hive and somewhere to put it.... otherwise if you do it the other way around you might not be able to find any bees for sale......