Poly Hives - Beebox vs Swienty

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PriceyBaby

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hallo,
I'm in my first year of beekeeping and have poly Langstroths from Modern Beekeeping (Beeboxes). I've got three colonies going into the winter all in such hives - keeping my fingers crossed as to how many come out the other side.

I like the Beeboxes - sort of - but the lack of actual 'proper' top bee space annoys me; the perspex 'crown board' sags in the middle so that bees get stuck; I've bought thicker perspex cut to the right size but even that doesn't entirely resolve the problem. The same applies to the plastic queen excluders Modern Beekeeping sell. PLUS, because of the way Beeboxes are made, any 'custom built' additions or wooden parts from other manufacturers don't fit properly!

I understand Swienty Langstroth hives are compatible with 'normal' Langstroth hives and the parts, so wooden-framed metal queen excluders, etc, would fit properly. I'm tempted to buy one to try it out (accepting that my Beebox stuff won't be compatible), especially as the exchange rate is quite favourable at present and they seem to price in Euros! I'm not sure about delivery charges, of course!

Does anyone have experience of both Swienty and Beebox poly hives and, if so, what are your thoughts/preference? In addition, are there any Swienty poly Langstroth users out there with a view on those hives specifically?

Cheers, and sorry for the long post, but I always think a bit of background is useful! :thanks:

Can you not put a small wood spacer on the middle of one of the top bars to stop the crown board or plastic Queen Excluder sagging in the middle.