One handed queen catcher

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am new to beekeeping and have taken this year as a learning year (thankfully) with great education and practical support from a neighbour and local association.

I had a question that they were unable to answer confidentiality so I thought I would also ask it here.

We were working with a hive and caught the queen in a one handed queen catcher and everything was fine, did what we needed to do and released her back. Moving onto the second hive and again we caught the queen to mark her. However this time the worker bees behaved very differently to the queen being in the catcher.

My question was - is this behaviour because there is queen pheromone present from the first hive and the worker bees of hive two are reacting to this. Should we use more than one catcher?

Does anyone have an idea if this is coincidence or it is know pheromone in the catcher can upset the next hive?

Hi all,

I am new to beekeeping and have taken this year as a learning year (thankfully) with great education and practical support from a neighbour and local association.

I had a question that they were unable to answer confidentiality so I thought I would also ask it here.

We were working with a hive and caught the queen in a one handed queen catcher and everything was fine, did what we needed to do and released her back. Moving onto the second hive and again we caught the queen to mark her. However this time the worker bees behaved very differently to the queen being in the catcher.

My question was - is this behaviour because there is queen pheromone present from the first hive and the worker bees of hive two are reacting to this. Should we use more than one catcher?