Jenter kit Queen cells

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wightbees

Queen Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
How long is a piece of string
I'm very happy with these as it's my first attempt using this system and with a little bit of a rocky start with getting the bees to keep the eggs in the plugs which delayed this by 3 days.

Here's the results :)

Attachments

• IMG_20170709_115711985.jpg
    IMG_20170709_115711985.jpg
    236.3 KB
  • IMG_20170709_115715212.jpg
    IMG_20170709_115715212.jpg
    168.6 KB
  • IMG_20170709_144747.jpg
    IMG_20170709_144747.jpg
    295.8 KB
Thanks Gary :) I can see why grafting is used but I can also see the benefits of this kit too. Going to do another batch in ten days time.

I have a cupkit but i've only used it twice; preferring to graft. What you've done looks good though! :)

Thank you Hebe , I think it was luck lol will be trying another batch later this month, really hope it goes this well again. What don't you like about cupkit?

My last try with a Cupkit = 6 QCs - 1 sealed today and the other five due rest of week..
Now 6 out of 18 seems a poor try but frankly I - as a hobby beek - would have been happy with three.

That's me done for the year.. 17 queens..(assuming all 6 get mated).
The weather has been ideal for mating - when needed. All the queens raised have successfully mated.
For people like me with poor eyesight and ageing hand/eye co-ordination, Cupkits are very easy to use..

I agree, these kits do make life easier to a degree. It's getting the bees to except the eggs once the Queen is released that I found difficult. But even with them not playing ball it only put me back 3 days.
I found a strong magnifying glass useful as some of these lava are so small I struggled to find them! I have only cut out cells/ lava before but prefer this kit I think.