Green house walls finaly finished.

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hedgerow pete

Queen Bee
Reaction score
UK, Birmingham, Sandwell. Pork scratching Bandit c
Hive Type
National
I have been collecting scrap conservatory plastic off cuts for about 4 months now, i have finialy collected enough to finsh the sides off today. It ranges from 10mm single wall to 45mm triple wall, all I have done is cut a selection down to fit.so sat i have found enough pieces to make a panel 1.8m tall i then trim all of them down to thw width of the shortest width, then screw them up with a spacer batten at the new end edge, then trundle off and find a another section. All the sheets go into the ground by around a foot or a bit less. to stop the chickens digging under it.

All I have to do now is start the collection for the roof sections.

It was coverd in a plastic sheet called MONOFLEX, we use it on site as a scaffold outer covering, it is a mesh reinforced plastic sheet with reasonable UV properties, the down side is after about three years the plastic film goes brittle and cracks out leaving you with a mesh green house covering rather than a solid one, ha ha ha.

chickens by the way did not help even when i asked them too,!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

so start with a heap
PIC_3067.jpg

then sides
PIC_3071.jpg

ending up with
PIC_3074.jpg
PIC_3076.jpg

as you can see lots of light shining through even with the opac stuff
PIC_3077.jpg

It won't be winning the "New Build of the Year" competition 'cos it ain't pretty - but if there is a competiiton for recycling it should stand a good chance. A good project and ready just in time I think.

I also particularly like the punishment cell for stray cats hanging from the roof. A great feature. Every garden should have one but best not to let the Cats' Protection League know about it.